All Tools
No. 55 Workflow

ClickUp

Tasks, docs, whiteboards and AI agents in one workspace for tracking production schedules

popular

ClickUp is an all-in-one work platform for tasks, docs, chat, whiteboards, goals and time tracking. Since June 2026 its AI layer, Brain2, answers questions across a workspace's tasks and docs and routes work to Claude, GPT or Gemini, alongside Super Agents that run inside the workspace. It suits production teams that want scheduling, approvals and documents in one place rather than a generation tool.

  • 3 creators using
  • Freemium pricing
  • Moderate learning curve
At a glance

What ClickUp can do

  • Infinite canvas Partial
  • AI agent Yes
  • Node / flow builder Partial
  • Public API Yes
  • MCP server Yes

12 of 26 capabilities confirmed

ClickUp: Generation & editing
CapabilitySupportedDetails
Text to image Partial Image generation listed on the MAX plan only
Image editing No
Text to video No
Image to video No
Video to video No
Native audio in video No
Lip-sync No
Voice / TTS No
Music & SFX No
Upscaling No
Character consistency No
Camera control No
Custom training No
Third-party models Yes Brain2 routes queries to Claude, GPT and Gemini
ClickUp: Workspace
CapabilitySupportedDetails
Infinite canvas Partial Whiteboards (infinite board for diagrams and sticky notes); not a generative asset canvas
Node / flow builder Partial Trigger-and-action automations (1K to 10K per month by plan); no node-based flow builder found
AI agent Yes Super Agents (Feb 2026), ambient AI agents (4.0), Brain2 (June 2026)
Chat assistant Yes Brain / Brain2 assistant across tasks, docs and chat
Team collaboration Yes Team workspaces, shared docs, comments and guest permissions
ClickUp: Platform
CapabilitySupportedDetails
Public API Yes Public API with OAuth and webhooks (developer.clickup.com)
MCP server Yes Official remote MCP server at mcp.clickup.com/mcp
Mobile app Yes ClickUp mobile apps; Brain MAX companion app (June 2026)
Desktop / local Not confirmed
Open source No
ClickUp: Rights & access
CapabilitySupportedDetails
Free tier Yes Free Forever: unlimited tasks, unlimited free members, 60 MB storage
Commercial use Yes Paid plans; Free Forever plan terms not checked for commercial use

Yes Partial No Not confirmed by the vendor

Why it stands out

What makes ClickUp different

  1. 01

    Single workspace for tasks, docs, chat, whiteboards, goals and time tracking, where most competitors split these across tools

  2. 02

    Official remote MCP server (mcp.clickup.com) so AI assistants like Claude can read and update tasks and docs

  3. 03

    Brain2 answers questions across the whole workspace and routes to Claude, GPT or Gemini instead of one model

  4. 04

    Super Agents and ambient agents run in the workspace under admin-set approval rules

  5. 05

    Free Forever plan with unlimited tasks and free members, a low entry point for small crews

The Feature

About ClickUp

ClickUp is a project and work-management product, not a creative tool. It handles shot schedules, call sheets as docs, approval tasks, edit-round tracking, budgets via custom fields and time tracking, and team workload views. The 4.0 interface became mandatory on March 27, 2026, when 3.0 was retired.

The 2026 changes are mostly AI. Super Agents launched February 10, 2026 and act inside the workspace within rules and approvals the admin sets. Brain2 launched June 23, 2026 as a rebuilt AI layer that pulls context from tasks, docs, decisions and conversations and routes queries to Claude, GPT or Gemini. ClickUp says Brain2 can also generate slide decks, dashboards and small apps from one prompt. Brain MAX, a companion app for Brain2, launched the same day. Earlier, the 4.0 release in December 2025 added ambient AI agents and an AI notetaker that turns meeting notes into tasks.

For a film or video team, ClickUp fits production management: a production board per project, tasks per deliverable, docs for briefs and scripts, and an official MCP server so an AI assistant can read and update tasks. It does not generate images, video or audio, and it is not a substitute for an NLE or a generation tool. Pricing is per seat and AI credits are pooled per user, so the cost scales with headcount.

Changelog

What's new in ClickUp

  1. Brain2 AI platform launches

    Rebuilt Brain uses workspace context and routes queries to Claude, GPT or Gemini; can generate decks, dashboards and apps from a prompt.

    Source: clickup.com ↗
  2. Brain MAX companion app

    Standalone app for working with Brain2 outside the main workspace, launched alongside Brain2 on June 23.

    Source: clickup.com ↗
  3. Google Drive automations and workload grouping

    Automations create Drive folders and Docs when tasks are created; Workload view adds a team and department grouping layer (April 8).

    Source: clickup.com ↗
  4. Custom fields by task type; 4.0 becomes mandatory

    Custom fields can be scoped to task types (March 1); ClickUp 3.0 was retired on March 27 and remaining teams were moved to 4.0.

    Source: clickup.com ↗
Under the hood

Models available in ClickUp

3 families · 3 models
  • Gemini Google Routed by Brain2; model versions not specified on the changelog
  • Claude Anthropic Routed by Brain2 for queries that suit it
  • GPT OpenAI Routed by Brain2; model versions not specified on the changelog

Key Features

  • All-in-one workspace: tasks, docs, chat, whiteboards, goals
  • Multiple project views: list, board, calendar, Gantt, workload
  • Custom fields scoped to task types (March 2026)
  • Brain2 workspace-wide AI assistant with Claude, GPT and Gemini routing (June 2026)
  • Super Agents and ambient agents with admin approval rules
  • AI notetaker that turns meeting notes into tasks
  • Automations with Google Drive folder and Doc creation
  • Time tracking, timesheets and capacity views
  • Official MCP server and public API with webhooks
The Verdict

When to reach for it — and when to skip

Reach for it when…

  • Covers tasks, docs, whiteboards and goals without a second tool
  • Free Forever plan is usable for small production crews
  • Official MCP server makes it easy to wire into Claude
  • Per-task-type custom fields suit a pipeline with different deliverable types

Skip it when…

  • Feature density is high and the interface takes time to set up
  • AI credits are pooled per user, and heavy agent use can exhaust them
  • No generative media features; it manages work about media, not the media itself
  • Pricing tiers and names have shifted several times in 2026, so quoted costs need checking

Best For

✓ Ideal for

  • Production managers tracking shoot days, edit rounds and deliverables across a team
  • Agencies running multiple client projects with approvals and time tracking
  • Teams that want docs, briefs and tasks in one place for a short film or series
  • Creative leads who want an AI assistant that can read the project board via MCP

✗ Not built for

  • Anyone looking to generate, edit or upscale video, image or audio
  • Solo creators who only need a simple to-do list (the Free plan is enough but the tool is heavy)
Field Notes

Working Tips from Filmmakers Using ClickUp

  1. 01 Use one task type per deliverable (rough cut, fine cut, deliverable) so each gets its own custom fields
  2. 02 Keep call sheets and briefs as Docs linked from the shoot-day task, not in chat threads
  3. 03 Stay on Free Forever until you need custom fields or automations at scale; the paid step is per seat
  4. 04 Check AI credit usage before rolling agents out to a whole team, since credits are per user
Pricing

ClickUp pricing in 2026

ClickUp plans and pricing
Plan Price What you get
Free Forever $0 free
  • Unlimited tasks and subtasks
  • Unlimited free members
  • 1 form
  • Kanban, calendar, sprints, time tracking
  • 60 MB storage
  • 500 trial AI credits per workspace
Core $8 yearly
  • Custom fields and task types
  • Unlimited spaces and forms
  • Gantt, chat, goals, guest permissions
  • 1K automations per month
  • 1K pooled AI credits per user per month
Business $17 yearly
  • Everything in Core
  • Advanced dashboards and webhooks
  • 10K automations per month
  • Resource management, timesheets
  • Google SSO and SMS 2FA
  • 1.5K pooled AI credits per user per month
Enterprise Custom contact sales
  • Everything in Business
  • SAML/SCIM SSO, audit logs, data residency
  • HIPAA and MSA
  • 1M automations per month
  • 3K pooled AI credits per user per month
MAX $100 yearly
  • Everything in Enterprise
  • 10K pooled AI credits per user per month
  • Premium model usage, custom skills, MCP connections
  • Image generation, notetaker, dashboard AI cards

Prices checked against ClickUp's pricing page on 9 Oct 2026. Vendors change plans often, so confirm before you buy.

Side by side

ClickUp vs Asana vs Linear vs Notion

ClickUp vs Asana vs Linear vs Notion
ClickUp Asana Linear Notion
Price Free Forever; paid from $8/user/mo billed yearly (Core) Free Personal (2 users); Starter from $10.99/user/mo billed annually; Advanced from $24.99/user/mo billed annually Free (250 issues) / Basic $10 per user/mo / Business $16 per user/mo, billed yearly; Enterprise custom Free; Plus EUR 9.50/member/mo; Business EUR 19.50/member/mo
Infinite canvas Partial No No Not confirmed
Node / flow builder Partial Partial Partial Partial
AI agent Yes Yes Yes Yes
Chat assistant Yes Yes Yes Yes
Team collaboration Yes Yes Yes Yes
Text to image Partial No No No
Third-party models Yes No Partial Yes
Public API Yes Yes Yes Yes
MCP server Yes Yes Yes Yes
Mobile app Yes Yes Yes Yes
Desktop / local Not confirmed No Yes Partial
Free tier Yes Yes Yes Yes
Commercial use Yes Not confirmed Yes Yes

Each column comes from that tool's own researched page. "Not confirmed" means the vendor doesn't say.

Open the full ClickUp vs Asana vs Linear vs Notion comparison →

Use Cases

Tracking a shoot schedule with one task per shot day and linked call-sheet docsRunning edit rounds with review tasks, comments and approval statusesBudget and time tracking per deliverable using custom fields and timesheetsAsking Brain2 or an MCP-connected assistant what is overdue across client projects

Tags

#project-management#tasks#docs#ai-agents#mcp#production-management#whiteboards#team-collaboration
How we checked this

Sources

Facts on this page were checked against ClickUp's own pricing, product and changelog pages on , then cross-checked with independent coverage where vendor pages were silent. Anything we couldn't confirm is marked "Not confirmed" rather than guessed.

  1. ClickUp pricing page clickup.com
  2. ClickUp Updates and Changelog (2026) clickup.com
  3. ClickUp 4.0 announcement (Dec 2025) clickup.com
  4. ClickUp developer docs (Public API, MCP) developer.clickup.com
  5. Business Wire release: ClickUp launches Brain2 (June 23, 2026) enidnews.com
  6. Asana pricing page asana.com
  7. Linear pricing page linear.app
  8. Notion pricing page notion.com

Spotted something out of date? Tell us and we'll re-check it.

Discussion

Sign in to join the discussion.

No comments yet — be the first.

Powered by ReelStack

Help keep this running

Your tip funds servers, models, and the time it takes to ship new tools faster. Set any amount below — every bit helps.